Local races in Tuesday’s vote

IRON MOUNTAIN – County commissioner primaries and millage proposals will highlight Tuesday’s partisan primary ballot in Dickinson and Iron counties.

Voters may cast ballots in only the Democratic or Republican primary.

In Dickinson County, incumbent Commissioner Henry Wender of Breitung Township faces two opponents in the District 4 Republican primary. The challengers are Wallace Townsend of Sagola and Mary VanOss of Channing.

In Iron County, Democratic primaries for the county board are contested in District 1, where incumbent Patti Peretto of Iron River is challenged by Mark Polley of Iron River, and District 4, where Raymond Kudwa and Sharon Leonoff, both of Crystal Falls, will vie for the nomination. Ernest Ness of Crystal Falls is the lone Republican county board candidate in District 4.

In Dickinson County, Breitung Township School District voters are being asked to approve a levy of up to 0.7 mills a year for the next 10 years for a sinking fund.

Iron County voters will have one county-wide millage renewal to consider, for operation and improvement of the Batawagama youth camp. The proposal seeks 0.5 mills for four years, 2015 through 2018.

There are local millage renewals on Tuesday’s ballot in Breen, Felch, Sagola and West Branch townships in Dickinson County and Bates, Crystal Falls, Mansfield, Mastodon and Stambaugh townships in Iron County.

The Iron Mountain School District is seeking renewal of its operating levy of 17.937 mills for 20 years. This is the non-Homestead property tax on businesses or second homes.

In the 1st Congressional District, incumbent U.S. Rep. Dan Benishek, R-Crystal Falls, faces a primary challenge from Republican Alan Arcand of Iron River. The Democratic candidate is Jerry Cannon of Traverse City.

In Michigan’s 38th Senate District, two Democrats will vie to challenge incumbent State Sen. Tom Casperson, R-Escanaba. The Democratic candidates are Christopher Germain of Escanaba and Chris LaMarche of Gladstone.

Statewide, a ballot measure seeks to end a Michigan tax on manufacturing and small business equipment.

Proposal 1, the only statewide question on Tuesday’s ballot, would reimburse local governments for their lost personal property tax revenue by sharing a portion of the state’s use tax.

In Norway Township, two Republicans are on the ballot for the township clerk’s position – Joyce Giuliani and James Cazzola, while Tammy Opolka is a Democratic write-in candidate.