Primary election Tuesday

IRON MOUNTAIN – A Republican primary for the District 4 seat on the Dickinson County Board of Commissioners will be decided Tuesday.

Commissioner Henry Wender of Breitung Township faces opposition from Republican challengers Wallace Townsend of Sagola and Mary (Kelly) VanOss of Channing.

There are no Democratic candidates on the ballot in District 4.

Breitung Township School District voters, meanwhile, will be asked to approve a levy of up to 0.7 mills a year for the next 10 years for a sinking fund.

A breakdown of the ballot in other county board districts follows:

– In District 1, incumbent Joe Stevens of Kingsford, a Republican, is unopposed.

– In District 2, the candidates are incumbent Ann Martin of Iron Mountain, a Republican, and Democrat Pamela Maule of Iron Mountain.

– In District 3, the candidates are incumbent Barbara Kramer of Iron Mountain, a Republican, and Democrat Dolly Cook of Breitung Township, who is the county’s clerk-register of deeds. Cook will be required to resign her clerk’s position if she wins election to the county board.

– In District 5, incumbent John Degenaer Jr. of Norway, a Democrat, is unopposed.

Following Tuesday’s primary, the District 2 and District 3 seats will be decided in the Nov. 4 general election.

Township clerk positions in Norway and Waucedah are also up for election, along with supervisor and trustee positions in West Branch Township.

In Michigan’s 108th House District, incumbent State Rep. Ed McBroom is unopposed in the Republican primary.

McBroom’s challenger in November will be attorney Grant Carlson of Norway, who faces no opposition in the Democratic race following the withdrawal of Justin Zirkle of Rapid River.

In Michigan’s 110th House District, incumbent State Rep. Scott Dianda, D-Calumet, and Republican Bob Michaels of Ironwood are both unopposed in Tuesday’s primary.

In Michigan’s 38th Senate District, two Democrats have filed to challenge incumbent State Sen. Tom Casperson, R-Escanaba. The Democratic candidates are Christopher Germain of Escanaba and Chris LaMarche of Gladstone.

In the 1st Congressional District, incumbent U.S. Rep. Dan Benishek, R-Crystal Falls, faces a primary challenge from Republican Alan Arcand of Iron River. The Democratic candidate is Jerry Cannon of Traverse City.

Statewide, a measure on Tuesday’s ballot seeks to end a Michigan tax on manufacturing and small business equipment.

Proposal 1, the only statewide question on the ballot, would reimburse local governments for their lost personal property tax revenue by sharing a portion of the state’s use tax.

State lawmakers already have voted to repeal the tax on small businesses and manufacturers, but the issue still needs voter approval.

Local millage renewals on Tuesday’s ballot include 0.5 mills in Breen Township for ambulance; 1.0 mills in Breen Township for fire department; 0.5 mills in Felch Township for ambulance; 1.0 mills in Sagola Township for fire protection; 0.75 mills in Sagola Township for ambulance; 1.0 mills in Sagola Township for road repair; and 0.5 mills in West Branch Township for ambulance.

The Iron Mountain School District is seeking renewal of its operating levy of 17.937 mills for 20 years. This is the non-Homestead property tax on businesses or second homes.