North sweeps Classic


For The Daily News

ST. IGNACE – Doug Ingalls learned how to play point guard during an all-state basketball career at Gladstone High School. He honed his craft during a four-year stint at Northern Michigan University.

He has continued to develop the impact of that position as varsity boys coach at St. Ignace, in addition to helping his wife’s girls team that has won four state titles. Therefore he was perhaps the most appreciative observer here Saturday as he directed two excellent guards at the 29th U.P. All-Star Classic.

Negaunee teammates Tyler Jandron and Eric Lori were dazzling as they led the North boys to a rousing 113-67 victory over South in the finale of the girls-boys twinbill sponsored by the U.P. Sports Hall of Fame. Jandron, a Class C all-state selection and U.P. Class A-B-C player of the year, was MVP.

Meanwhile, Michigan Tech University recruit Elisa Jurmu led the North girls to a comeback 75-72 victory in the opener en route to earning MVP honors.

Jandron had 18 points, four rebounds and six assists as his clever passes and up-tempo approach dazzled the South defenders. Lori, an off-guard who

played in Jandron’s shadow the past couple of years, added 13 points as North coasted to a 59-37 halftime lead.

Jandron, who rifled several cross-court passes from the left side to go with some no-look passes in either direction, controlled the flow of the game. He led North to a 13-1 lead that swelled to 22-5 against the baffled South defenders.

“We moved the ball and no one on the team was selfish,” said Jandron. “We hit the guys who were open and we also crashed the boards. It was fun. It (slick, up-court passing) can get you in trouble, but with this group of guys you’re allowed to do that.”

North led 59-37 at halftime and was never threatened after the break, extending the lead to 81-51 with 10:34 left. The running clock (at 40 point lead) probably deprived North from breaking the all-star record of 120 points.

Dan Stenbeck of Cedarville led South with 12 points, six rebounds and three steals, Keenan Lampinen of Carney-Nadeau added 11 points and Robinette had six rebounds, three steals and six points.

Trevor Ekberg of North Central won the slam dunk title and Trent Keteri of Houghton took the 3-point shooting crown.

In the girls opener, North trailed 39-29 in the first half but gradually climbed back into contention after the break and tied the score at 62 with 6:20 left. Jurmu scored seven points as North opened a 71-64 lead in the next three minutes. Maddy Swanson of L’Anse, who will play at Lake Superior State Univesity, added four free throws to help reject a late South bid.

“Our shots were not falling early, but around the 8-10 minute mark we started playing better defense and had better rebounding,” said North coach Dick Franti of Ontonagon. “When the shots started falling we got a little momentum. As a team we picked it up in the second half.”

Franti has 501 victories as a girls coach at Bergland and Ontonagon, tied for second all-time in the Upper Peninsula with Paul Polfus of Carney-Nadeau. Nancy Osier of Ewen-Trout Creek tops the list with 582 wins. He plans to coach at least two more years.

Jurmu had 31 points – no one else on North reached double digits – and 13 rebounds in an overall sterling performance

Vanessa Freberg of Superior Central had 24 points for South, Kendra Campbell of Forest Park had 18 and

Kelsie Richards of Houghton hit all 10 free throw attempts to win that pre-game event and future U.S. Air Force recuit Teslyn Tyner of Superior Central won the 3-point shooting contest.

After three years in St. Ignace, the All-Star Classic will be played at Marquette High School the next two years.

(Dennis Grall is secretary of the U.P. Sports Hall of Fame and former Escanaba Daily Press sports editor)


North – Kassie Metcalf 0, Maddy Swanson 6, Valerie Rajala 8, Julia Daavettila 9, Brooke Turin 2, Lizzy Dauphinais-VanBuren 6, Kelsie Richards 9, Alexis Barr 4, Elisa Jurmu 31.

South – Teslyn Tyner 5, Brooke Pasanen 2, Kendra Campbell 18, Kelley Wright 12, Vanessa Freberg 24, Tiffany Wangerin 7, Maddy Anderla 2, Emily Hinsman 2.


North – Trent Keteri 9, Andy Nyquist 2, Eric Lori 13, Adam Mackey 13, Tyler Jandron 18, Paul Torola 6, Ben Zielinski 12, Shane Beaune 11, Larry Burnette III 10, Jimmy Veker 14, Alex Almquist 5.

South – Elijah May 0, Cole Potvin 7, Jared Hunter 3, Dionte Blahnik 4, Justin Nyquist 9, Brandon Robinette 6, Travis Vincent 7, Keenan Lampinen 11, Dan Stenbeck 12, Trevor Ekberg 8.