CF City Hall marks 100 years with open house event July 26
CRYSTAL FALLS – Gloria Frederickson, curator for the Harbour House Museum in Crystal Falls, is researching the history of the city’s main street over the last 100 years, and she needs the help of area residents.
“Any information or photos of buildings located on Superior Avenue from 1914 through 2014 would be very helpful,” Frederickson said.
She will be working in the Crystal Falls City Hall auditorium on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Frederickson’s sources of information include old phone books, city directories, postcards, photographs, and news clippings. These items may be copied and the original does not need to be forfeited.
The ultimate goal of the project is a complete map of stores that have been open for business on Superior Avenue between 1914 and today.
Frederickson is also interested in documenting the various fires that have damaged or destroyed buildings as part of the project. Information regarding fires is also useful in identifying store locations.
Currently, she is attempting to pin down the location of the Gem Theater and the Sholander and Malmberg grocery, both dating from around 1915.
Those with anything to offer or who would like to help with the project may stop by the city hall. The second floor of the building, which houses the auditorium, is currently closed to the general public, so those interested should ask for assistance in reaching the research area.
Frederickson may be contacted at (906) 875-6219. Please leave a message if she is unable to answer your call.
The Crystal Falls City Hall itself is 100 years old this year, and an open house commemorating the milestone will be held in conjunction with the Summerfest celebration on Saturday, July 26.
Anyone with pictures of the city hall, inside or out, is encouraged to contact Frederickson so copies can be made and shared during the event.