Dorothy Occhietti vocational scholarship winners announced

IRON MOUNTAIN – Paul Bonsall, president of the annual Dorothy Occhietti Dickinson County Vocational Scholarship Association recently announced two winners.

This year’s recipients are: Marissa Bazan, Kingsford High School and Winter Steinbrecher, North Dickinson High School. Both recipients are attending Bay College in the fall.

Applicants must be graduating from a Dickinson County high school and enrolling in a two year technical program or associate degree.

The association would like to extend gratitude to all of its business partners that have generously donated to the scholarship fund. Donors this year include: Dr. John Fornetti, Dickinson County Healthcare System, Fleury, Singler & Company P.C., The Markell Co. and MARSP.

Since its inception more than 32 years ago, the association has awarded 76 scholarships totaling more than $68,000.

Bonsall also expressed appreciation to members of the scholarship committee who attend meetings and analyze applications each year. Current members include: Ted Paquin, Francis Brouillette, Al Pirkola, Jerry Picucci, Gene Whippler and Patti Arnold.