AAUW honors longstanding members

IRON MOUNTAIN – The Iron Mountain -Kingsford branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) honored nine of their longstanding members at the Chippewa Club during their annual business meeting on April 22.

The guest of honor was Beryl Lee, who has been an AAUW member since 1950, a total of 64 years. Lynne Wilson, vice-president of programs, gave a short presentation on the social and pop cultural events of 1950, the year Lee joined AAUW.

Lee was presented with a bouquet and an AAUW water bottle, and scarf.

All longstanding members were presented with flowers and AAUW souvenirs. Marsha Wainio was recognized for her more than 25 years of membership.

Pam Edens, Catherine Pirkola and Mary Stolze were recognized for being a part of AAUW for more than 20 years. Holly Stratton, Jan Van Gasse, Pauline Werner and Lynne Wilson were recognized for being members for a minimum of 10 years.

AAUW is a nationally recognized non-profit organization that strives to promote equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, and research.

The Iron Mountain-Kingsford Branch of AAUW supports this mission through the promotion of community-service opportunities and by providing scholarships for area women to attend a two- or four-year college or university of their choice.

Two or four-year college-degreed members of the community who are interested in finding out more information about joining the Iron Mountain-Kingsford Branch of AAUW can contact Jan Van Gasse at (906) 563-8791.