Senate and House votes


Here are recent Senate and House votes.

Friedland Nomination Confirmation – Vote Confirmed (51-40, 9 Not Voting)

On Monday the Senate approved the nomination of Michelle T. Friedland to be a judge on the 9th Circuit of the U.S. Court of Appeals.

Sen. Carl Levin voted Yes.

Sen. Debbie Stabenow voted Yes.

Minimum Wage Increase Cloture – Vote Rejected (54-42, 4 Not Voting)

Senators failed to invoke cloture for a bill that would have raised the federal minimum wage from $7.25 to $10.10 last Wednesday.

Sen. Carl Levin voted Yes.

Sen. Debbie Stabenow voted Yes.

Recent House Votes

Mil Con/Veterans Affairs Appropriations Passage – Vote Passed (416-1, 14 Not Voting)

The House approved a bill on Wednesday to provide $165 billion in fiscal 2015 for the Department of Veterans Affairs, military construction, and military housing. The bill would provide $58.7 billion in advance appropriations for fiscal year 2016 for certain VA medical care programs. Only Rep. Raul Labrador, R.-Idaho voted against the measure.

Rep. Dan Benishek voted Yes

Legislative Branch Appropriations Passage – Vote Passed (402-14, 15 Not Voting)

House members voted to approve $3.3 billion to fund the legislative branch of the federal government, excluding the Senate, in 2015. The bill includes money for the Library of Congress, Government Accountability Office, Architect of the Capitol, and Capitol Police.

Rep. Dan Benishek voted Yes

Upcoming Votes

Nomination of Nancy L. Moritz, of Kansas, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Tenth Circuit – the Senate will vote on the nomination of Nancy L. Moritz of Kansas to be a judge for the 10th Circuit Court of Appeals on Monday.

American Research and Competitiveness Act of 2014 – H.R.4438

On Wednesday, the House will consider a bill to extend the research and development tax credit that expired at the end of 2013 permanently.

Success and Opportunity through Quality Charter Schools Act – H.R.10

Later in the week, the House will consider a bill that would consolidate and reauthorize funding for charter school programs within the Department of Education.

Karl (Ben) Weber

Sagola Township