Niagara/Florence co-op ready for track season

NIAGARA, Wis. – A good mixture of experience and youth fills the first-year track and field co-op between Niagara and Florence High School.

The Northwoods Storm, scheduled to begin the season today at the Niagara Invitational (weather permitting), shows a roster of 24 boys and 16 girls.

“As with any change, some people were apprehensive about going to the co-op,” coach Scott Trevillian said. “Overall, I think the kids and the community have responded positively. For the first time in a couple years we have some depth and choices to make on who can participate in each event, a problem I love to have. The first season for the Northwoods Storm should be a success.”

Trevillian and Karen Harrison serve as the team’s co-head coaches. Greg Brownson and Judy Parent are also on the staff as assistants. The team is part of the M&O Conference.

“We have a hard working group with a great attitude,” Harrison said. “We’re looking to be competitive and improve on individual performances.”

Key losses to the team included Jenna Carlton, a two-time state qualifier in the 800, along with Kaitlyn Lundin (Disc/Shot), Jordan Zawada (sectional qualifier in sprints), Mike Bagozzi (sprints), Brandon Hansen (middle distance), Chris Jeffords (distance) and Chance Nelson (throws).

The Storm do bring back good experience with Nate Moll (sectional qualifier in mid-distance), Shanna Nordell (sectional qualifier in sprints/mid-distance), Drew Seibold (sprints), Brett Pultz (sectional qualifier in pole vault), Adam Parent (sectional qualifier in long jump), Danny Jones (sectional qualifier in distance), Mitch Koenig (sectional qualifier in sprints), Emma Baumgart (sectional qualifier in hurdles), Brooke Soderberg (sectional qualifier in hurdles), Aly Young (sprints/middle/jumps), Maddy Doll (throws), Brian Glime (jumps).

Also returning are Garret Browning, Stephen Schwartz, Nick Hansen and Aaron Emery. The Storm feature some 15 newcomers, which includes seven freshmen.

“Determining who fits where has been the biggest issue,” Trevillian noted. “We should be well-balanced for both the boys and girls.”

Roster follows:


SENIOR – Garret Browning, Brandon Holcomb, Mitch Koenig, Tarzis Maurer, Nate Moll, Jake Oratch, Brett Pultz, Drew Seibold, Tom Sielaff.

JUNIOR – Bryan Glime, Danny Jones, Feddy Noeske, Anthony Kligis.

SOPH. – Aaron Emery, Derek Fuller, Tim Gaedtke, Nicky Hansen, Grant Moll, Adam Parent, Stephen Schwartz.

FRESHMAN – Daniel Borchardt, Devin Dumke, Kalvin Jeffords, Alex Garvaglia.


SENIOR – Emma Baumgart, Madisin Depas, Maddy Doll, Valarie Massicotte, Brooke Soderberg, Aly Young, Arsenija Zlaticanin.

JUNIOR – Kayley Anderson, Linda Helin, Shanna Nordell.

SOPH. – Myah Anderson, Katie Steeno, Brooklyn Wolosyn.

FRESHMAN – Hannah Antonissen, Lexi Huth, Brittani Spigarelli.