Wykon girls eye another track win


Sports Writer

IRON RIVER – West Iron County hopes to continue its indoor track domination today at the Superior Dome.

The Wykons swept two previous girls track meets this season at the Northland Pines High School fieldhouse. West Iron is part of the Division 2 field at the Superior Dome meet.

Despite those wins, Coach Kristi Berutti and the Wykons are looking forward to getting outside.

“If we could actually get to the track it would be helpful but this snow just won’t end,” Berutti said.

The defending U.P. Division 2 champions return five girls who supplied the bulk of the points – junior Alexis Golfis, first in long jump; Victoria Harris Hoogenboom, second in 1600 run; Carli Johnson, first in 200; Megan Miatech, first in shot, and Cassilyn Pellizzer, first in 300 hurdles and second in 100 hurdles.

Pellizzer ran a 32.18 at Northland Pines Saturday to break the 200-meter hurdles school record there.

West Iron registered 139 points to win the 12-school meet.

Wykons also notched firsts from Miatech in shot (33-9.25) and freshman Emmy Kinner in the 200 dash (29.18) along with the 1600 relay (4:52.77 from Emmy Kinner, Elizabeth Pellizzer, Madeline Waara, Cassilyn Pellizzer) and 3200 relay (11:09.40 from Alyssa Possanza, Brianna Lambert, Waara and Harris-Hoogenboom).

Johnson (29.60) was runner-up to Kinner in the 200.

In the March 27 meet at Eagle River, West Iron edged Chequamegon 171-171.5 for the title.

Miatech took the shot (36-1.75), Harris-Hoogenboom, 1600 (6:08.17) and 3200 (13:35.30), and Cassilyn Pellizzer, 200 hurdles (32.84) and high jump (4-8).

West Iron’s 3200 (11:05.49 from Mariah Marcell, Lambert, Waara and Harris-Hoogenboom) and 1600 (4:42.59) relays also placed first.

The Wykons added seconds from Golfis in 200 hurdles (34.81) and Ally Jo Polich in long jump (14-1.75). WIC girls track roster:

FRESHMAN – Reece Deneau, Emmy Kinner, Molly Meyer, Katilee Rhino.

SOPHOMORE – Emika Anderson, Victoria Heimerl, Mariah Marcell, Elese Nordang, Elizabeth Pellizzer, Ally Jo Polich, Allysa Possanza.

JUNIOR – Flavia Accoto, Kristyna Foster, Alexis Golfis, Carli Johnson, Sydnie Mazurek, Keeley Nolingberg, Konnor Tousignant, Alexis Vicenzi, Madeline Waara.

SENIOR – Casey Harrington, Alexis Kinner, Brianna Lambert, Megan Miatech, Cassilyn Pellizzer, Sarah Penkivech, India Schindler.