Niagara Lions to award scholarships

NIAGARA, Wis. – The Niagara Lions Club will provide $2,000 to support four scholarships this year that will be presented to 2014 graduates of Niagara High School, according to an announcement by President Tim Marshall.

The club’s scholarship program began in 1986, and grew to include the Roy Eggen Memorial Lions Scholarship, the Dwayne Smith Memorial Lions Scholarship, the Russell and Carol Sauld Memorial Scholarship, and the Kerry Grippen Lions Club Scholarship.

Recipients of the 2013 Lions Club scholarships were Rachel Broullire, Jason Liebergen, Jordan Zawada, and Zach Zychowski.

In order to apply for any of the four $500 scholarship awards, students must have been accepted at a university or technical college.

The deadline this year for submitting applications is April 15, which must be turned in at the high school office. Selection of the recipients will be made by Niagara school personnel in accordance with Niagara Lions Club Scholarship criteria.

Since the inception of the club’s scholarship program in 1986, the club has provided nearly $35,000 in local scholarships to Niagara graduates.

Funds for the awards have been generated through gifts provided by the family of Dwayne Smith and through other fund raising activities of the club.

This year’s scholarships will be announced during commencement exercises on Saturday, May 24.