North Central dominates Skyline boys basketball

CRYSTAL FALLS – Unbeaten North Central earned major honors at the Skyline Conference boys basketball meeting.

Jets senior Travis Vincent was named most valuable player while junior Rob Granquist landed a first-team berth from Skyline coaches. North Central also filled a second-team slot with freshman Jason Whitens.

Jets senior Josh Granquist received honorable mention along with membership on the Skyline defensive team. North Central senior Trevor Ekberg was also honorable mention.

Jake Pearson of Rapid River, Keenan Lampinen of Carney-Nadeau, Lee Graff of Forest Park and Evan Winkelbauer of Mid Peninsula completed the first team.

Dionte Blahnik of Carney-Nadeau, Austin Snell of Forest Park, Kyle Kleiman of Bark River-Harris and Logan O’Neil of North Dickinson joined Whitens on the second team.

Honorable mention also went to Hayden Hardwick of Rapid River, Daniel Nocerini of Forest Park, Chad Branstrom of Mid Peninsula, Jorden Sodergren of Bark River-Harris, Justin Clark of North Dickinson and Marcus Antilla of Republic-Michigamme.

CN’s Blahnik was the defensive MVP, leading a unit with Graff, Pearson, Josh Granquist, Branstrom, Noah Berg of North Dickinson and Cody Welch of Bark River-Harris.

North Central, with coach of the year selection Adam Mercier, topped the Skyline with a 14-0 ledger. Forest Park and Carney shared runner-up at 11-3, followed by North Dickinson, 7-7; Bark River-Harris, 6-8; Rapid River and Mid Peninsula, 3-11, and Republic-Michigamme, 2-12.

North Central, 14-0, also won the jayvee title.

Badgers receive

conference HM

SURING, Wis. – Niagara’s Joey Swanson and Zach Walker have been named all-M&O Conference boys basketball honorable mention.

Peshtigo seniors Jordan Berth and Zack Neumann shared the M&O outstanding player award unanimously. Ben Fischer of Crivitz, Zach Orlando and Aaron Schlies of Wausaukee and Kiefer Powers of St. Thomas Aquinas Academy also made the first team.

The second team consisted of STAA’s Jameson Bardowski, Lena’s Hunter Borchert, Suring’s Dillon Kempen, Crivitz’s Colton Lange and Peshtigo’s AJ Woller.

Wasaukee’s Beau DeLaet was an honorable mention selection with the Niagara seniors.

Gunner Kinney of Peshtigo was tabbed the league’s premier defensive player.

Caudell, Grayvold

MPC second team

GWINN – Make it three years in a row.

Tyler Jandron of Negaunee High School has been named the Mid-Peninsula Conference’s Player of the Year for the third straight season.

The 6-2 senior point guard was a unanimous selection by league basketball coaches Tuesday at a meeting held in Gwinn.

He scored a conference-leading 216 points during the regular season for an 18-point average.

Jandron was also a unanimous pick as a member of the M-PC’s All-Defensive Team.

Iron Mountain’s Zach Caudell and Norway’s Austin Grayvold claimed second-team spots.

Norway’s Nick Bal received honorable mention.

Mountaineers’ Brock Grenier was named to the all-defensive team.

The M-PC all-conference list follows:

First Team – Senior Alex Briones, Ishpeming; senior Eric Lori, Negaunee; senior Owen DeVooght and senior Justin Nyquist, Gwinn; and senior Bobby Zhulkie, Ishpeming.

Second Team – Senior Zach Caudell, Iron Mountain; senior Austin Grayvold, Norway; senior Tyler Kangas, Manistique; senior Luke Woods, Westwood; senior Zane Radloff, Negaunee.

Honorable mention – Sophomore Jay Lori, Negaunee; senior Derek DeCaire, Ishpeming; senior Alex Morse, Gwinn; senior Nick Bal, Norway.

All-Defensive Team – Jandron; DeCaire; sophomore Luke Gray, Westwood; Eric Lori; junior Brock Grenier, Iron Mountain.