Volleyball stars


SURING, Wis. – Niagara’s Shelby Borchardt has been named the M&O Conference’s premier defensive specialist.

The Badger junior was a unanimous choice for the award. She was also named to the first team with Coleman senior Lindsey Kerr, tabbed the M&O’s most outstanding player.

Jenn Kempka of Crivitz, Brianna Lemirande of Gillett, Nicole Motkowski of Peshtigo, Makenzie Sadowski of Coleman and Calley VanBellinger also garnered first-team berths.

Niagara sophomore Brooklyn Wolosyn claimed a second-team spot with Abby Bieber of Coleman, Melissa Bushmaker of Lena, Kaylor Delaet of Wausaukee, and Carly Dietrich and Teja Tonn of Peshtigo.

Crysta Clark of Wausaukee and Shanna Nordell of Niagara received honorable mention.


IRON MOUNTAIN – Iron Mountain’s Marti Pirkola, a front row hitter, has landed a first-team berth on the All-Mid-Peninsula Conference volleyball team.

The Mountaineer junior was joined on the first team by Manistique’s Maggie Morrison, Gwinn’s Katie Aho and Bella Wedig, Ishpeming’s Jessica Spencer and Negaunee’s Rosalie Anderson.

Norway’s Leah Mattson and Iron Mountain’s Alena Herman earned second-team spots with Vanessa McNamara of Manistique, Jayda Johnson of Negaunee, and Shelby Talsma and Kaylee Arnsparger of Gwinn.

Norway’s Lexi Negro and Iron Mountain’s Cassie Feira received honorable mention.

All-Defensive team honors went to Jacey Bal of Norway, Kristen Gendron of Iron Mountain, Morgan Kangas of Manistique, Ashley Childs of Gwinn, Adena Anderson of Negaunee and Elizabeth Dauphinais-VanBuren of Westwood.

Great Northern

GLADSTONE – Kingsford middle hitter Lauren Smith has been named to the All-Great Northern Conference volleyball first team.

Flivver teammates Emily Murdock and Lillian Slajus claimed second-team honors.

Four Flivvers – Nikki Roberge, Amber Larson, Maria Wiltzius and Sammie Zander – received honorable mention.

Callie Jensen of Gladstone and Tayler Smith of Marquette shared GNC Co-Player of the Year.

Stephenson’s Sara Johnson was named Coach of the Year after the Eagles finished the regular season as GNC champions.

The first team also consisted of Courtney McGovern, Marquette; Jensen, Lexi Hongisto and Jess Beaudry, Gladstone; Ashley Cook, Escanaba; Smith and Hunter Viitala, Marquette; Lexi Johnson, Stephenson, and Allia Stewart, Menominee.

Other second-team picks were Lexi Rasner and Alie Duprey, Stephenson; Brooke Janquart, Amanda Simmons, Amanda Pederson and Maddie Anderla, Menominee; Summer Demuese, Gladstone, and Kami Fritz, Escanaba.

West PAC

IRON RIVER – West Iron County senior middle hitter Cassilyn Pellizzer, a three-year starter, has been selected to the All-West PAC volleyball first team.

Wykon teammates Abbie Grubbs and Amy Richardson gained honorable mention.

Calumet junior Lexie Rowe was named the most valuable player by the West PAC coaches.

The undefeated conference champions put two players in addition to Rowe on the All-West PAC first and second teams and earned coach of the year honors for coach Lisa Twardzik.

Setter Terilynne Budreau, a junior, and libber Megan Yeo, a senior, earned first-team selections for Calumet, alongside Hancock setter Nicole Anderson, a junior, and right-side hitter Taylor Mattson, a senior.

The other spot on the first team went to Houghton junior middle hitter Sydney Dillinger.

Northern Lakes

WABENO, Wis. – Four seniors from Florence and Goodman-Pembine have been named to the All-Northern Lakes Conference volleyball first team.

Rachel Stankevich and Kayleigh Betka of Goodman-Pembine and Aly Young and Emma Baumgart of Florence garnered first-team honors. League champion Wabeno-Laona was represented by Mesa Geiter and Holly Spaude.

Geiter was selected NLC Player of the Year.

Courtney Goyak and Marissa Moloney claimed second-team honors with Abby Zielke of Three Lakes, Ashley Volkmann of Phelps, Makayla Raith of Elcho and Allison Seils of Crandon.

Erin Walker and Keaghan Doda of Florence received honorable mention.


CRYSTAL FALLS – Forest Park’s Lexi Gussert was a unanimous choice for Skyline Conference most valuable player.

The senior middle hitter led Coach Kim Bjork’s Trojans to an unbeaten Skyline Conference season.

North Dickinson, second in the Skyline, also earned major league awards. Junior outside hitter Lexi Steele received the defensive specialist award while Sandy Haustein was named coach of the year.

League coaches selected seven girls to the first team – Janel Dani, Carney-Nadeau, senior, outside hitter (unanimous); Maria Stankewicz, Forest Park, sophomore, setter; Kelsey Shope, Mid Peninsula, senior, middle hitter; Paige Whitens, North Central, senior, middle hitter; Chelsey Stroud, North Dickinson, junior, outside hitter, and Miranda Jacobson, junior, middle hitter, and Savannah Stenlund, Rapid River, senior, outside hitter.

Forest Park’s Libby Shamion, a sophomore outside hitter, was a unanimous choice for the second team. Teammate Hannah Marinoff, a senior libero, joined Shamion on the second team with Malorie Peterson, Bark River-Harris, senior, setter; Gina Rotter, North Dickinson, senior, setter; Andrea Dani, Carney-Nadeau, senior, setter; Morgan Wells, North Central, senior, middle hitter, and Hannah Kanyuh, Rapid River, sophomore, outside hitter.

Honorable mention went to Kimberly Cary, North Dickinson, senior, middle hitter; Savannah Stenberg, Bark River-Harris, senior, libero; Alli Theoret, Carney-Nadeau, senior, libero, and Hunter Branstrom, Mid Peninsula, junior, middle hitter.