Swanson takes NLC’s Offense Player award

WABENO, Wis. – Northern Elite Predators’ Joey Swanson, a threat running or throwing, has been selected Northern Lakes Conference Offensive Player of the Year.

Swanson passed for 1,326 yards and 16 touchdowns, and rushed for 1,332 and 15.

NLC coaches also named Crandon lineman Grant Murray as the defensive player of the year.

Ben Laarman, from league champion Northern Elite, reaped coach of the year.

Swanson (quarterback, defensive back) and seven other teammates collected first-team status – Trent Heath, offensive end; Jake Oratch and Tyler Rice, tackle; Adam Parent, kicker; Jake Pedrotti, defensive end; Nate Moll, linebacker, and Brandon Holcomb, defensive line.

Florence’s John Lemanski, running back and linebacker; Josh Seibold, running back and defensive back; Dominik Testolin, guard and defensive line; Spencer Davis, tackle, and Connor Trudell, defensive line, made the second team.

Northern Elite was represented on the second team by Pedrotti, running back; Moll, center; Jevan Lucena, guard; Patrick Moreau, defensive back, and Rice, defensive line.

Northern Elite linebacker Wyatt Aderman received honorable mention.

All-Northern Lakes Conference first team follows:


Quarterback – Joey Swanson, Northern Elite.

Back – Morgan Krueger and Grant Murray, Crandon; Ryan Brauer, Laona-Wabeno.

End – Trent Heath, Northern Elite; Michael Pecore, Menominee Indian.

Center – Cody Flannery, Crandon.

Guard – Johnny Dennee, Crandon; Hunter Babich, Laona-Wabeno.

Tackle – Jake Oratch and Tyler Rice, Northern Elite; Kyle Merschdorf, Laona-Wabeno.

Kicker – Adam Parent, Northern Elite.


Back – Joey Swanson, Northern Elite; Michael Pecore, Menominee Indian; Trevor Martin and Brett Novak, Crandon.

End – Cody Flannery, Crandon; Jake Pedrotti, Northern Elite.

Linebacker – Nate Moll, Northern Elite; Chase Tupper, Crandon; Hunter Babich, Laona-Wabeno.

Lineman – Grant Murray, Crandon; Brandon Holcomb, Northern Elite; Kyle Merschdorf, Laona-Wabeno.

Punter – Joey Swanson, Northern Elite.