Flivver foursome among GNC’s best

ESCANABA – Four Kingsford players have been named to the All-Great Northern Conference football team.

Offensive lineman Jake Coughlin, linebacker Jake Allen, defensive back Cole Tengesdahl and punter Dan Fleming earned GNC first-team honors.

The Flivvers also landed six players with honorable mention – Tengesdahl, wide receiver; Joe Hofer, quarterback; Brody Sundquist, running back; Alex Patterson, linebacker; Brien Johnson, defensive line, and Hugh Harris, defensive line,

For the fifth consecutive year, an Escanaba Eskymo quarterback has been named All-GNC. Travis Heller received the honor this year, which was previously held by Dave Falish (2012), Austin Young (2010-11) and Max VandeWiele (2009).

Heller, who dropped back to pass more than he took off to run, was 62-123 passing for 1,211 yards and 10 touchdowns this season through the air, including a school record 22-of-33 for 290 yards against Cheboygan.

Bailey Lamb of Escanaba was named the GNC Lineman of the Year. Tailback Devon Harris of Menominee was selected Offensive Player of the Year and Maroons linebacker Ryne Francour was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year.

Menominee’s Joe Noha received coach of the year.

All-GNC first team follows:


Quarterback – Travis Heller, Escanaba.

Running back – Devon Harris, James Brown and Justin Brilinski, Menominee.

End – Kurt Burmeister, Marquette; Sean Sullivan, Menominee; Cameron Beversluis, Escanaba.

Center – Pat Dowling, Marquette.

Offensive line – Jake Coughlin, Kingsford; Jake Cronick, Gladstone; Luke Lapperierre and Skyler Rinehart, Menominee.

Return specialist – Riley Ballard, Gladstone.


Line – Justin Brilinski and James Brown, Menominee; Bailey Lamb and Steve Wood, Escanaba; Chris Ritchie, Gladstone.

Linebacker – Jake Allen, Kingsford; Ryne Francour, Menominee; Gabe Apple, Marquette.

Back – Cameron Beversluis, Escanaba; Cole Tengesdahl, Kingsford; Sean Sullivan and Devon Harris, Menominee.

Kicker – Evan Pohlman, Menominee.

Punter – Dan Fleming, Kingsford.