Benishek, Ribble among Republicans who voted to end shutdown

CRYSTAL FALLS – U.S. Rep. Dan Benishek, R-Crystal Falls, was one of four Republicans in Michigan’s congressional delegation who voted in favor of legislation to avoid a threatened federal default and end the 16-day government shutdown.

The House passed the proposal 285-144 Wednesday night, with all 198 Democrats and 87 of 231 Republicans voting yes, the Associated Press reported.

U.S. Rep. Reid Ribble, R-Sherwood, Wis., was the only Wisconsin Republican who voted in favor of the bill.

Other Michigan Republicans voting yes were Reps. Dave Camp of Midland, Mike Rogers of Howell and Fred Upton of St. Joseph.

Michigan Republicans voting no were Reps. Justin Amash of Cascade Township, Kerry Bentivolio of Milford, Bill Huizenga of Holland, Candice Miller of Harrison Township and Tim Walberg of Tipton.

The Michigan Democrats voting yes were Reps. John Conyers of Detroit, John Dingell of Dearborn, Dan Kildee of Flint, Sander Levin of Royal Oak and Gary Peters of Bloomfield Township.

Voting no were Wisconsin Republican Reps. Paul Ryan of Janesville, Jim Sensenbrenner of Menomonee Falls, Tom Petri of Fond du Lac and Sean Duffy of Hayward.

Wisconsin Democratic Reps. supporting the legislation were Gwen Moore of Milwaukee, Mark Pocan of Madison and Ron Kind of La Crosse.

In the Senate, the measure was approved 81-18. (All of the no votes in the Senate came from Republicans.) Voting yes were Democrats Carl Levin and Debbie Stabenow of Michigan and Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin.

Voting no was Republican Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, who today was appointed to a bipartisan committee assigned to come up with a long-term budget agreement. Wisconsin’s Ryan is expected to co-chair the panel.