House under goes paint job in preparation for 130th anniversary
IRON MOUNTAIN – The Dr. Joseph Addison Crowell Mansion was built by famed architect F.L. Packard in the spring of 1884.
The Romanesque-style structure has a first floor of Amberg granite and was the first Iron Mountain house to be listed in the Michigan State Register of Historic sites in 1979.
The hitching posts where the doctor and his patients left their horses flank the driveway and the carriage block marked ‘Dr Crowell’ used by ladies and gentlemen when stepping out of their carriages remains in front of the home. The home features oak wainscoting and floors, five individually unique fireplaces and beveled leaded glass windows in the parlor, sitting room and dining room.
The double front door leads into a vestibule and then into a reception room with a splendid oak bookcase over the fireplace. A two-story oak staircase is supported by two magnificent oak columns. Dr. Crowell is remembered as being one of the first two physicians and surgeons to practice in Iron Mountain.
Current owners, Dan and Melissa Wentarmini, are doing a complete paint job update to the exterior before its 130th birthday next year. Only the third family to own the home in it’s entire history, the Wentarminis and their seven children have lived there since the spring of 2011.