Kingsford, WIC coaches honored

MARQUETTE – Championship coaches have been named recipients of major awards from the U.P. Tennis Coaches Association.

Kingsford’s Mark Shanks was selected U.P. Division 1 Coach of the Year while WIC’s Joe Serbentas was tabbed for Division 2. Both men guided their schools to U.P. titles.

Kingsford, West Iron County, Iron Mountain and Norway players gained All-U.P. honors.

Player of the Year honors went to Negaunee’s Cody Tossava in Division 1 and Munising’s Noah Ackerman in Division 2.

In Division 1, Flivvers’ Caleb Harrington and Adam Szabo attained All-U.P. singles. Daniel Harrington was honorable mention.

Three Kingsford doubles teams – Dalton Allen-Aidan Wienke, Sean Ryan-Ted Pietila and Alec Tuchowski-Joe Gregory – made the first team.

In Division 2, Austin Waara and Ryan Rogers of West Iron and Randy Mueller of Norway cracked the singles lineup. Iron Mountain’s Taylor Huotari and WIC’s Alex Ralston landed honorable mention.

For doubles, WIC’s Andrew Peterson-Sean Gustafson and Iron Mountain’s Gerry Pirkola-Max Frorenza drew first-team awards. Honorable mention doubles included Tor Thorne-Jordan Mauro, Norway; Tyler Capadagli-Joey Pisoni, West Iron, and Danny Willman-Henry Hakamaki, Iron Mountain.

All-U.P. teams follow:


Singles – John Bryant, Escanaba; Aaron Parmet, Gladstone; Caleb Harrington and Adam Szabo, Kingsford; Josh Downs, Marquette; Davey Luplow Menominee; Cody Tossava, Negaunee.

Honorable Mention – Daniel Harrington, Kingsford; Justin Flood and Noah Gannon, Marquette; Ryan Syrjala and Rob Sertich, Negaunee.

Doubles – Dave Fix-Justin Eastin, Escanaba; Tyler Wells-Jeremy Kadish, Gladstone; Dalton Allen-Aidan Wienke, Sean Ryan-Ted Pietila and Alec Tuchowski-Joe Gregory, Kingsford; Kyle King-Alex Shahbazi, Marquette; Bret Anderson-Ryan Woods, Menominee; Doug Lindblom-Nick Martin, Negaunee.

Honorable Mention – Steve Wood-Mike Shields, Escanaba; Mike Edwards-Matt Collins, Marquette; Michael Kinsey-Caleb Kleiman, Menominee.

Player of the Year – Cody Tossava, Negaunee.

Coach of the Year – Mark Shanks, Kingsford.

Honorary Coach of the Year – Rich Tromblay, Gladstone.


Singles – Noah Ackerman, Munising; Austin Waara and Ryan Rogers, West Iron; Quinn Leroy, Westwood; Derek Reetz, Gwinn; Randy Mueller, Norway; Lucas Lisowsky, Ishpeming; Guillermo Ansede, Ishpeming.

Honorable Mention – Taylor Huotari, Iron Mountain; Michael Ostlund, Westwood; Jesse Mottes, Gwinn; Alex Ralston, West Iron.

Doubles – Andrew Peterson-Sean Gustafson, West Iron; Dallas St. Arnauld-Nick Bjork, Gwinn; Derek Wing-Andy Duquette, Westwood; Joe Paquette-Chase Nebel, Munising; Toni Gravedoni-Cody Johnson, Ishpeming; Gerry Pirkola-Max Frorenza, Iron Mountain.

Honorable Mention – Tor Thorne-Jordan Mauro, Norway; Tyler Capadagli-Joey Pisoni, West Iron; Danny Willman-Henry Hakamaki, Iron Mountain.

Player of the Year – Noah Ackerman, Munising.

Coach of the Year – Joseph Serbentas, West Iron.