Badgers honor top performers


Sports Writer

NIAGARA, Wis. – Two exceptional student-athletes earned Badger Awards at the 55th Niagara High School spring program Wednesday.

Kaitlyn Lundin and Colin Anderson received Niagara High School’s most prestigious honors recognizing seniors for their efforts in academics, athletics and work outside of school.

Lundin and Anderson each accepted plaques and $1,000 scholarships from Badger Award sponsors Forward Financial Credit Union. The two-year National Honor Society members were also recognized as Niagara’s WIAA Scholar-Athlete representatives.

Lundin was named girls basketball most valuable player for a second straight season. She was also honored with coach’s honors in volleyball and track and field along with “One-Act.”

Third in the senior class with a 3.922 grade point average, Lundin will attend Northern Michigan University and study to become a respiratory therapist.

Anderson stood out in football, basketball and golf. The basketball captain received a coach’s award.

Anderson is the first Niagara student win the M&O Conference academic award in math.

Anderson, second in the class with a 3.935 gpa, plans to major in industrial or civil engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

In other honors Wednesday, Lundin was joined by three other seniors as repeat MVP selections.

Jenna Carlton claimed girls track and field MVP for a third year; Maryellen Wagener, two-time volleyball and “One-Act” play; Jordan Zawada, twice in boys basketball plus track & field MVP, and TJ Liebergen, golf MVP for two seasons.

NOTES: Niagara and Florence will form a track & field co-op team next spring. The WIAA and M&O Conference are expected to approve the move … Niagara’s majorettes program, twirling for the past 35 years, is the only one within a 100-mile radius … Brock Rose won Wisconsin’s Skills USA best welder award for the second straight year … Niagara’s girls basketball team received the M&O Conference sportsmanship award

Awards follow:

MAJORETTES – Rachael Broullire, MVP; Katie Christensen, coach’s.

ONE ACT – Maryellen Wagener, MVP; Kaitlyn Lundin, coach’s.


BOYS BASKETBALL – Jordan Zawada, MVP; Colin Anderson, coach’s; TJ Liebergen, Badger; Joey Swanson, defense; Jacob Oratch, most improved.

GOLF – TJ Liebergen, MVP; Joey Coppens, Craig Anderson Memorial.

VOLLEYBALL – Maryellen Wagener, MVP; Kaitlyn Lundin, coach’s; Melinda MacDonald, most improved.

TRACK – Jenna Carlton, girls MVP; Jordan Zawada, boys MVP; Kaitlyn Lundin, Shanna Nordell and Brett Pultz, coach’s.

BASEBALL – Hunter Kaldor, MVP; Domenic Spigarelli, most improved.

SOFTBALL – Marah Harvath, MVP; Laura Norman, most improved.