Qualifying records fall at Norway Speedway opener

NORWAY – Blistering speeds and new qualifying records highlighted the Dickinson County Racing Association season opener at Norway Speedway.

The night started off with Coca-Cola late models as Jamie Iverson was the first to qualify and broke his own track record. He was shortly followed by Brandon Reichenberger, who erased the new qualifying standard. Florida’s Dalton Zehr then became the first driver to brake the 14-second barrier, posting a time of 13.951 (averaging 86.014 miles per hour).

In the 83-lap Island Resort & Casino Stateline Challenge, Dillon Kralovetz passed Zehr for the lead with 14 laps remaining and took home the title.

In the Auto Value Super Stock A feature, John Mattia Jr. beat Tim Schultz to the finish line by half a car length.

Racing continues Friday night at Norway Speedway.

Results follow:


Fast Qualifier – Dalton Zehr, 13.951 average speed, 86.014 (track record).

Heat Winners – Even Qualifier, 1. Tom Lindquist 2. Dan Lindsley 3. Mike D’Angelo 4. Joey Pontbriand 5. Kris Kelly; Odd Qualifier, 1. Dalton Zehr 2. Jordan Ives 3. Scott Stanchina 4. Tony Wells 5. Shawn Majkrzak.

Stateline Challenge – 1. Dillon Kralovetz 2. Dalton Zehr 3. Tom Lindquist 4. Shawn Majkrzak 5. Tony Wells 6. Scott Stanchina 7. Brandon Reichenberger 8. Scott Hoffman 9. Bruce White 10. Joe Pontbriand.


Fast Qualifier – Mark Jenshak, 16.016 average speed, 74.924.

Heat – 1. Mike Stanchina 2. Tanner Kelly 3. Dave Sanicki 4. Tim Schultz 5. John Mattia Jr.

A Feature – 1. John Mattia Jr 2. Tim Schultz 3. Mark Jenshak 4. Dave Sanicki 5. Tanner Kelly


Fast qualifier – Trevor Cronick.

A Feature – 1. Cody Skog 2. Matt Adams 3. Rhianna Carne 4. Bradley Ostermann 5. Anthony Schiefelbein.


Fast qualifier – Brian Monday, 16.371, average speed of 73.3.

Feature – Brian Vixmer.