New Aurora board members elected


Staff Writer

FLORENCE, Wis. – There will be two new members on the Aurora Town Board following Tuesday’s election.

In the race for chair, Betty Bock defeated incumbent William Dyer by a vote of 153 to 65. Although Dyer had announced before the election that he was withdrawing from the race, his name still appeared on the ballot.

The winners in the race for two town board seats were incumbent Yvonne VanPembrook with 120 votes and newcomer Sandra Osterberg-Hedmark with 106 votes.

Incumbent Roger C. Osterberg received 105 votes and Tom Krans received 93 votes.

Aurora’s clerk and treasurer races were uncontested. Clerk Stacy Hedmark received 195 votes and treasurer Tanya Neuens received 211 votes.

In Fern, incumbents retained their seats.

Chair Fred Erwin defeated write-in candidate Kim Haevers by a vote of 54 to 35.

Clerk George Pakos defeated challenger Sue A. Christensen by a vote of 52 to 40.

All other Fern races were uncontested. Town board member Dwaine Drewa received 77 votes, town board member Jim LeFevre received 62 votes, and treasurer Carol Demko received 87 votes.

In Homestead, voters elected Craig Tomczak as their town board member by write-in. He received 17 write-in votes.

Tomczak was the incumbent, but he had announced that he was not running for re-election. No one else applied for the position.

There were no contested races in any of Florence County’s other five towns.

Nikki Younk’s e-mail address is