State champions

TRENTON – Dickinson Amateur Hockey Association’s Binks captured the Squirt B state title with a 2-1 victory over Grand Valley in the finals of an eight-team tournament.

Carter Kreski scored in the opening minute of the game, and Marcus Michaud added another three minutes later to put the game out of reach.

“Defense wins championships,” a team spokesperson said. “Play by all the kids helped bring home the championship.”

Kreski, the team’s leading scorer in the tournament, earned MVP honors. Zackery Wood collected five wins in net for Binks.

Binks opened the state tournament with a 9-2 win over Saginaw. Kreski notched five goals in the win, with Conn Davis lighting the lamp for the first time this season. Saturday brought on a hard-fought contest against Mount Clemens, with Binks prevailing 3-2. Later Binks knocked off the Southgate Senators 10-2 to advance to the semifinals.

The semifinals saw Binks play the only other U.P. entry in St. Ignace. Binks took that game 6-1, with Michaud leading the charge with the early scoring.

Binks wished to thank all the people who donated to the team, enabling them to have a trip of a lifetime and memories of winning a state championship.

The coaching staff of Kirk Fortner, Dennis Perpich and Lee Hauswirth. offered its thanks to the kids for a great year and the effort put forward by all the kids the entire season.

Binks finished is state title season with a 39-8 record.

Scoring summary follows (Goals-Assists):

Carter Kreski 15-3, Marcus Michaud 6-5, Hunter Fortner 3-6, Henry McRoberts 4-5, Nickolas Saari 1-7, Brandon Dishaw 1-3, Jack Perpich 0-3, Conn Davis 1-2, Cody Gunville 0-2, Daniel Maki 0-1, Zackery Wood 0-1.