Dr. Cameron resigns from Hospital Board


News Editor

IRON MOUNTAIN – There is a vacancy on the Dickinson County Healthcare System Board of Trustees following the resignation of Dr. Ray Cameron, whose otolaryngology practice is now part of the DCHS-owned Dickinson Physician Services.

With Cameron no longer eligible to serve on the hospital board, DCHS will move soon to name a replacement, said William Edberg, board chairman. “His connection with the medical community will be sorely missed by the board,” Edberg said.

Edberg was named hospital board chairman earlier this year, succeeding Richard Berlinski, who had served eight years in that capacity. Berlinski remains on the board, having served as a trustee since 2002.

Susan Tracy is the board’s vice chairman, succeeding Edberg, and Sally Blom remains secretary. Other members are Alice Lemieux, Steve Zurcher, Dr. Alan Fulks and the newest appointee, Adam St. John, mill manager at Verso Paper in Quinnesec. St. John was named to a four-year term in December.

Under a change in state law that became effective a little more than a year ago, the DCHS board makes its own appointments, subject to the consent of the Dickinson County Board of Commissioners. Formerly, the county board made the final selection from among nominees selected by the hospital board.

Jim Anderson’s email address is janderson@ironmountaindailynews.com.