MPC?picks hoops stars

IRON MOUNTAIN – Norway’s Bailey Grayvold, who led the Mid-Peninsula Conference in scoring, has been named the league’s player of the year.

Grayvold, a senior guard, averaged 16.9 points and 5.3 rebounds in league play.

MPC coaches meeting Friday selected an all-conference first team of Ishpeming sophomore Jessica Spencer, Gwinn sophomore Ellie Olsen, Manistique senior Kyra Lauzon, Negaunee junior Rosalie Anderson and Iron Mountain senior Katelynn Johnson.

Grayvold and Johnson each hit a league-high 15 three-point field goals this season.

Iron Mountain senior Abby Gerhard made the second team with Westwood junior Lizzy Dauphinais-VanBuren, Negaunee senior Taylor Wilber, Gwinn senior Lydia Asplund and Ishpeming junior Gabby Crocey.

Gerhard, Grayvold, Asplund, Wilber and Alesha O’Brien of Ishpeming earned all-defensive team spots.

Honorable mention went to Kayla Hakala and Ashley Veale of Negaunee, Morgan Bruce of Gwinn, Heather Evosevich of Norway and Katie Rankinen of Westwood.