New chair on Iron County Board


Staff Writer

CRYSTAL FALLS – Three new members of the Iron County Board of Commissioners were seated during the board’s organizational meeting on Wednesday, and one more new member will be appointed by the end of the month.

New commissioners are Patti Peretto, Jim Brennan, and Ray Coates.

Peretto and Coates defeated incumbent commissioners Wayne Wales and Rosalie King in the 2012 elections. Brennan won the seat vacated by Fran Wills, who did not seek re-election.

Following the Jan. 1 resignation of Bev Camp, Carl Lind is the only incumbent commissioner returning to the board.

The board, which currently consists of only four members, elected Lind as chair and Coates as vice chair. Lind then appointed Brennan as finance chair.

Lind had previously served as the board’s finance chair. This is his first time as chair.

“Thank you for your confidence in me,” Lind told the other commissioners.

To fill Camp’s seat, the board will advertise for applicants until Friday, Jan. 18, then choose one of the applicants at a special meeting on Monday, Jan. 21.

Applicants must reside in district five, which consists of Crystal Falls Township, Mansfield Township, and Hematite Township.

The chosen applicant will only hold the seat until a special election can be held later this year.

Iron County Clerk Joan Luhtanen explained that, depending on the number of people interested in running for the seat, a primary election and a general election may be needed. Election dates are available in May, August, and November.

The next board meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, Jan. 8 at 1 p.m.

Nikki Younk’s e-mail address is